A blocked person won’t be able to send or receive messages from you on WhatsApp. The “last seen” timestamp and status and profile picture updates can’t be seen by someone you have blocked. Using WhatsApp doesn’t notify someone when you block them – they won’t know why you blocked them.
The WhatsApp messaging app is a popular alternative to iMessage and Facebook Messenger. Most people use WhatsApp on their phones as their primary method of communication. If your friends don’t all have the same type of phone or live abroad, using this app is a good option for group texting and chats.
There are times, however, when blocking someone on WhatsApp becomes necessary. It’s easy to block an unknown number or a contact harassing you with uncomfortable confrontations, whether you’re getting calls or texts from them.
WhatsApp allows you to block someone relatively easily and only takes a few steps. To block an unwanted contact, open WhatsApp on your mobile device and follow these steps:
- Select the contact you wish to block. In the top-right corner of the app, you will find a search icon if you are unable to locate the contact.
- At the top-right corner, tap the three vertical dots.
- Select More from the drop-down menu.
- Select Block from the menu.
- Select Block from the options that appear. You can also block and report the contact by tapping Report and Block.
When you recognize WhatsApp spam, you can use the report option.
An unknown phone number can be blocked via WhatsApp in a couple of ways. When contacted on WhatsApp by that number, those contacted can select Block in the chat window. You can block the unknown phone number by opening the chat with it, selecting it, and then selecting Block Contact, Block, or Report and Block.
Your phone will no longer receive messages or calls from blocked contacts. WhatsApp contacts who are blocked can no longer see their last seen status, online status, or profile photo changes.
However, you cannot remove a contact from your contacts list by blocking them. This option also won’t remove them from the contact’s phone’s contacts list. To delete a contact, users must do so from their address book on their phone.
Unblocking contacts on WhatsApp is also easy via Settings, Account, Privacy, and Blocked.
The first step is to swipe left on the contact’s name. As an alternative, users may tap Edit, the red minus sign icon, and Unblock. You can also open a chat with the contact, tap their name, and select Unblock Contact.
Swipe left the chat with the contact in your Chats tab, then tap More, Contact Info, and Unblock Contact. During the time contact was blocked, you will not receive any messages, calls, or status updates from the contact.
Blocking someone on WhatsApp will prevent them from contacting you. You won’t be able to see their profile picture, their status, or even see the messages they send to you. Read on to know more!
The profile photo of your contacts will not be visible to them if you block them on WhatsApp. When they try to enlarge the photo area, they will see a notice that says “no profile photo.”
WhatsApp lets people see when you last used it by opening your chat window and viewing the Last Seen time. You can prevent WhatsApp users from seeing your Last Seen by blocking them.
Any incoming call (voice or video) from the blocked contact is blocked. WhatsApp won’t allow blocked contacts to call you unless they are unblocked. This is because WhatsApp only lets people be saved in your contacts call.
The status area on WhatsApp cannot be viewed by a blocked contact. Blocked contacts are not visible on the list of active chats, so they won’t be able to see your status update, well.
When you block certain contacts, they cannot send you direct messages, but group chats are unaffected. It is still possible for that blocked person to message you within the group chat you are in with that blocked person.
When you block a contact’s phone on WhatsApp, you cannot call or message them until you unblock them. You can unblock from the settings menu, where you can also access your blocked contacts.
Blocking someone on your phone is a way to cut off all communication with them. To unblock, you can go into the settings menu and then find the block list, where you can unblock contacts you have previously blocked.
Blocked contacts are not removed from your WhatsApp contacts when you block them. They will still be available on WhatsApp, and you can view their contact information. You can only remove them from your address book by deleting their number.
Sometimes blocking someone on WhatsApp is necessary. Blocking someone is an easy way to stop contact without feeling uncomfortable. Whether you’re getting calls or texts from unknown numbers or a contact is harassing you.
Blocking certain contacts will prevent you from receiving WhatsApp messages, calls, and status updates from them. The other user will not be notified that WhatsApp has blocked them. However, any messages they send to you will not be delivered. They will still be able to see you on their contact list and open the conversation you both share.
A blocked message is a message that the recipient has not yet read and the sender cannot read. If you delete a conversation with someone, then any messages in that conversation will be deleted and will not be retrievable. However, if you unblock someone, all the messages from that person will show up again.
Messages do not get deleted when you block someone on WhatsApp. They just go to a different folder, and the person you blocked can’t see them.
The easiest way to see if a blocked number has tried to contact you is by going into your phone’s call log. If you see a number that has been blocked, then it’s likely that the person who called you tried to hide their identity.